The Elk in Winter

Posted on January 10, 2010

11


Babs Young has been wandering about on M-88. She sent this note:  These elk seem to love this weather. I think their antlers grow better in the cold. However you are going to have to check Torch Lake Views for who these elk belong to because I can’t remember and can’t find it on the net. I know Gerry will know.

As it happens, Babs is right. The elk belong to the Conants. I was wandering past there myself earlier this week, looking for a nice tall livestock fence to photograph for the Fence Post. The elk did not appear for that photo opportunity (they were probably holding out for Babs, I would).  I thought the scene looked sort of bare without them, but now you can have both the instructive fence illustration and the livestock.  Waste not want not.

Every week photographer Babs Young captures moments in northern Michigan, and every week she sends one to Torch Lake Views just for you. You can find more of her photos at the Babs Young Photo Archives and on her Blue Heaven Flickr photostream.

