First day of summer my hind foot

Posted on June 21, 2010

6


Here it is the Summer Solstice and instead of a bright and breezy day on the Bay we have an overcast morning without any promise at all. I am grumpy. I want a refund. However, I will settle for cheering up, and it has arrived in my mailbox right on schedule.

Our Babs has been out and about along the Flat Road and spotted the last of the Lady Slippers. She writes: This is Lady Slipper season up here. Both the Yellow (Cypripedium calceolus) and the Showy (Cypripedium reginae) Lady Slippers are in bloom now, but just about past their prime. I must confess that although I found some yesterday, I took this photo a year ago.

Miss Sadie, the Cowboy and I are all in favor of recycling, and Babs has done it to good effect here. I believe I can manage to make it through the rest of the day now, well fortified with sunny yellow. Tonight I’m going over to the Township Hall for the first in the Wilkinson Summer Speaker Series. Andrea and Ryan Romeyn are going to make a presentation on Providence Farm, and there is hardly anyone who can cheer a person up as much as the Romeyns. I recommend you check it out. I suspect there will be treats.

Every week photographer Babs Young captures moments in northern Michigan, and every week she sends one to Torch Lake Views just for you. You can find more of her photos at the Babs Young Photo Archives and on her Blue Heaven Flickr photostream.

Tagged: