Forecast: Heatwave, chance of whimsy

Posted on July 14, 2012

24


It is hot and sticky again.  I am almost out of lemonade, and entirely out of ideas.  Fortunately Bruce and Andi Laidlaw have been rummaging around in the archives again.  I see you had some dolls in a recent posting, wrote Bruce.  For fans of the Toy Story movies, I offer Woody stuck in a lagoon.  (Note: if you click on a photo you will see a larger version.)

I am possibly the only person in North America who has never seen even one of the Toy Story movies. Perhaps watching one this weekend would be an excellent diversion.

Andi sent a completely different take on the toys theme.

Maybe I could take Miss Sadie and the Cowboy for a ride on a stand-up board.  Or maybe we should just go down to the beach and stand in the water, like our next subject.

Bruce’s story—and he’s stickin’ to it—is this: A few evenings ago I heard the wail of bagpipes from the beach. I went to investigate. Although the sound seemed to come from nearby, it was coming from about a half mile away. I walked in that direction and finally spotted someone who could have been a piper standing in the water. I used a long telephoto setting to take a shot. But then the wailing stopped. It wasn’t until I blew the shot up with my computer that I [knew I] had really taken a photo of the piper.

I wish I’d been down there hearing the distant wail.  Perhaps I might acquire a stand of pipes in honor of my Baird line.  I could play them each morning, greeting the dawn as the sun lifts over the bluff.

I will give you fair warning about the last of the photos.

The itsy-bitsy spider went up the water spout
Down came the rain and washed the spider out
Out came the sun and dried up all the rain
So the itsy-bitsy spider went up the spout again

It’s a very small spider, an eensy-weensy spider really, but I know how you are. Here you go.

Bruce knows how you are, too, but it’s just such an intriguing little image, isn’t it?  I was messing with different focus techniques, he wrote, and the result was sort of three dimensional.  See?  Just think of it as an exercise in photographic technique.  If you’d like to examine it closely, just click on the photo for a larger version . . .

