Reflection along the Jordan River

Posted on March 25, 2014

17


Babs has been over in East Jordan taking pictures.  She pulled into a parking lot overlooking the braided flats of the Jordan River where it empties into the South Arm of Lake Charlevoix, and captured sunshine on ice.  Beautiful, she writes, but still very cold. That water is all frozen.

East Jordan deep freeze

I fell in love with the Jordan River the first time I followed it along the Jordan River Pathway – and that was an accident.  It was a long time ago, and I was, um, misplaced.  It took me the better part of a magical afternoon to achieve . . . placement, and my heart has been tethered here ever since.

Fast forward a few years and I had returned to northern Michigan for good.  I explored the river on hikes and in a kayak – and even on a rubber raft in the winter.  I watched bald eagles and ospreys hunting over the very spot in today’s photo. I listened to people who knew a great deal more than I ever will about the ecology of rivers. Dr. John Richter, president of Friends of the Jordan and a veterinarian, gave me the confidence to adopt Miss Sadie. The late and dearly missed naturalist Bud Jones taught me to recognize beech trees and to appreciate their value to bears. I owe these people. I repay them by telling you about the river. 

Sharp bend ahead

It is rich with the history of many peoples, and cradles astonishing biodiversity.  We’ve wandered here before, and if spring ever comes again, I’ll take you for a walk over there. Meanwhile, if you like following links, I offer two that will get you started:

 

 

