Getting up waaaay too early

Posted on April 2, 2016

16


At the Writing Studio and Bait Shop waking up in the middle of the night is routine. I wander into the bathroom, wander back, pat the dogs, and climb back into bed. Then I go back to sleep.

Not this morning.  This morning sleep went missing.  When that happens a person can lie there and think too many thoughts.  A person can turn on the lamp and read in bed.  Or a person can just say oh the heck with it and get up.

Have a cup of coffee.  Maybe two cups.  Check email.  Make reminders to self.  Find some interesting pictures to show you. Here’s one Babs took on March 23.

Babs Mar 27 shed.jpg

Michigan Picture 12, Babs Young 2016

I like that picture. Great old shed, beautiful old tree, blue sky—what’s not to like?  I’ll tell you what’s not to like.  Snow.  There is snow in that picture.  I am tired of snow. I had to shovel that very snow off my 22 steps when I got back home Sunday night.  (Miss Sadie, the Cowboy and I had been visiting Rob the Firefighter and the Lady Alicia in Detroit, where the grass is already nice and green.)  The only thing green Around Here right now is the moss.

Mossy old tree in the woods

Have a little breakfast.  Look outside.  It’s beginning to grow light.  Oh look, there’s a fresh dusting of snow on the deck.  Fine.  You know what I’m going to do today?  After I sweep the snow off the steps?  I’m going to remove some hornet nests from under the deck.  I’m going to order another tank of propane.  I’m going to do laundry and clean house.  When a day is determined to go to perdition I say we should stuff all the aggravation into it that we can find.

I want to leave you on a more cheerful note.  Try the story Linda (aka Shoreacres) wrote about a grackle, some coots, and an alligator. I believe you will enjoy Mr Grumpy gets his bath. I certainly did, and I don’t like alligators any better than you do.

